About Us

Assistance League of Dallas is an all-volunteer philanthropic organization dedicated to improving the lives in Dallas and surrounding area. Our members touch the lives of hundreds of area children each year through our Operation School Bell® program, the Cheers for Children Program at Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, and also PediPlace. We assist the elderly through three programs: Tender Loving Care Dolls, knitted lap blankets for wheelchair patients, and Senior Care Visitation. We provide assistance to abused women through our Assault Survivor Kits presented to patients at several area hospitals.


For more than 45 years, our chapter has been dedicated to effectively finding and fulfilling needs of the Dallas community through the volunteer efforts of many caring individuals. We have no paid staff and do not receive government funds.


The philanthropic programs are funded completely through fundraising events, tax-deductible donations and grants from the corporate and private sector. One-hundred percent of proceeds from our fundraisers are returned to the community. All contributions are appreciated.


Through our philanthropic programs, we gave a total of 6,200 hours in 2016.




Our Mission Statement

Assistance League of Dallas is a nonprofit philanthropic organization of dedicated volunteers providing direct services that address specific needs of children and adults in schools, hospitals and senior facilities in Greater Dallas.



Voting Board Members


President  -  Sue Hughes

Vice President, Membership  -  Margaret Williams

Vice President, Philanthropic Programs  -  Arlene Henslee

Vice President, Resource Development  -  Jean Niederkorn

Secretary  -  Linda McSwain

Treasurer  -  Carlotta Rhoades

Strategic Planning  -  Barbara Wiskow

Parliamentarian  -  Holly Daiker


Standing Committee chairmans

Bylaws / Parliamentarian, Holly Daiker


Advisory Board

Julie Chronis, CMI

Ryan, LLC

Three Galleria Tower

13155 Noel Road, Suite 100

Dallas, TX 75240




Shari Markey


502 South Old Orchard Lane, Suite 126

Lewisville, TX 75067




Jerry Y. Niederkorn, PhD

Vice Chairman for Research

Department of Ophthalmology

UT Southwestern Medical Center

5323 Harry Hines Blvd.

Dallas, TX 75390




Bryan L. Sample


13155 Noel Road, Suite 900

Dallas. TX 75240




Greta Phillips Founding President of AL Dallas, 1967

Past Presidents’ Luncheon, February 2017